Sunday, 27 March 2016


          All atoms having different atomic weights but belonging to the same element are termed as isotopes, i.e. atomic number of isotopes of an element remains the same. Obviously, isotopes contain same number of protons and electrons. Thus the isotopes are atoms of different weight belonging to the same element and having the same atomic number. The difference in the masses of the isotopes of the same element is due tot he different number of neutrons contained in the nucleii. For example, hydrogen exists in three isotopic forms. Atomic number of hydrogen is 1. Three isotopes of hydrogen are:

a) Ordinary hydrogen (1H1) with atomic mass equal to 1.
b) Deuterium (1D2) with atomic mass equal to 2.
c) Tritium (1T3) with atomic number equal to 3.

similarly, chlorine has two isotopes, 17Cl35 and 17Cl37. Those isotopes are available in the ratio of 3;1. Their average atomic weight is 

No comments:

Post a Comment

@2017 All Rights Reserved. Designed by WWW.SMARTWAY4STUDY.COM !!!! Sitemap !!!! Blogger Templates